Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a severe newb... am I even allowed to post in the Formula Toy section? I have a few questions about them;

Is it worth looking all over the place for a used 85 or older pickup/4Runner, just to get the solid axle? Is it just as easy to get a late 80s truck and then find a solid front Toyota axle?

I'm not looking to open the manual or auto transmission discussion, but which is more popular in the F-Toy class?

I understand some people are converting their rigs to run on Propane. I read about all the advantages, and the fact that it is not "street" legal but is wonderful for a rock buggy. Is propane a more popular fuel for an F-toy or is it still questionable?

Lastly, as far as an F-toy goes, what is considered to be a rolling chassis? What's included? Does anyone build a rolling chassis for purchase, or can you generally only buy a chassis and do the entire build yourself.

I want to make building a Formula Toy a reality someday, but with limited skills/knowledge I don't know how to get started.

·
Registered
8,152 Posts
Is it worth looking all over the place for a used 85 or older pickup/4Runner, just to get the solid axle? Is it just as easy to get a late 80s truck and then find a solid front Toyota axle?

I'm not looking to open the manual or auto transmission discussion, but which is more popular in the F-Toy class?

I understand some people are converting their rigs to run on Propane. I read about all the advantages, and the fact that it is not "street" legal but is wonderful for a rock buggy. Is propane a more popular fuel for an F-toy or is it still questionable?

Lastly, as far as an F-toy goes, what is considered to be a rolling chassis? What's included? Does anyone build a rolling chassis for purchase, or can you generally only buy a chassis and do the entire build yourself.