Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up? I'm a newb to the off road world so looking for some expertise from everyone. I traded a guy an SKS (AK47 gun) and a 14 ft jon boat for this 96 Grand Cherokee yesterday. It has no title so this will just be used for riding trails and as a family type "side by side" around our property. I don't want to go crazy with this thing, since I have two hot rods I'm working on, but I would like to make it run and drive good, still have a bed area, and seats for everyone to ride along. I'm thinking maybe door bars and a cage eventually but for now a small lift. So check out the pics and please let me know of anything I should look for. The transfer case is stuck in 4lo, the springs look like they put some cheap "lift" clamps on them, the transmission is slipping in and out of gear (see pics, there is a bolt loose and the trans isn't flush with the block) and the flywheel bolts are rubbing. The guy did the chop top on it, put on 33's, did some other work to it too but I want to fix some of it. Let me know what u think or what needs to be done. I just want something mild like maybe 2" of lift, fix the things that need fixed and get it driving good. Should I just take the sway bars off since its gonna be off road only? It starts right up every time, looks like it has some oil leaks around the valve cover, all the lights work, radio works, windows work except passenger rear.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The exhaust is rubbing the oil pan here.

Here the flywheel bolts are rubbing.

Here the bolt is backed out and the transmission isn't flush with the block.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've already taken the snorkel off, gonna figure somethin else out.

Little bit of an oil leek around the valve cover

Took the snorkel off and saw this laying in the throttle body. What is this?

·
Registered
428 Posts
That is an interesting find in the TB.