Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
newbie with a amc360 and engine issues

hey im kinda new to the offroad scene, and the v8 scene, and the "classic vehicles" and etc but i amateur race autocross and have done all my own work on my other cars so i assume i can figure out how to work on the jeep

well i just got a 1971 jeep wagoneer, i know it has about a 2inch lift, blocks in the rear and i have no idea about the front. the body is in good shape but needs some tlc and ive wanted a project car for a bit. and i got it for a steal.

the bad news i got today, #8 cyl is has 50psi on the compression test. allother 7 are perfect, did a little test and found its the valve. so instead of dealing with a shop that wants to charge 800-1200 bucks for a valve job, im looking at ordering a set of heads.
i found the Edelbrock Performer Aluminum Heads on BJ's offroad. for about the same as the shop wanted for a stock valve job so i figured like my other cars, if something breaks it gets replaced with something upgraded.
i was wondering if there is any other options? different heads that are better or cheaper etc

and im thinking while im down there the carb has always given my grandfather issues so while everything else is off i might as well replace the intake manifold and carb. and wonder what yall suggest.

·
Registered
4,410 Posts
Might as well do an Edlebrock performer intake at the same time.Then swap to an Edlebrock carb with offroad needle and seat or even better a Holley Truckavenger.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3