Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
785 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took my newly assembled AR to the range today with my 10 year old son, along with a few other toys. and after about 20 rounds I had a FTF. I pulled the round out of the chamber and it looked line the firing pin didn't strike the primer. I noticed the denting and scraping on the case, and set it aside. On one of the mag's I unchambered a round and it had the same marks on it. After collecting the brass, I noticed that they all had the scrapes on them. I'm guessing the dents got hammered out during the ignition. All of the rounds chambered just fine, they all ejected nicely too with little force.

I'm relatively new to AR's, but I suspect that I need to do some polishing of the lugs on the barrel extension? or maybe knock off some sharp edges?

This is a PSA assembled upper chambered in 5.56, 1:7 chrome lined.

Thanks for any help!
Steve

·
Fistful of Boomstick
45,473 Posts
show pics of chamber area

·
Registered
785 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here is the chamber, It hasn't been cleaned, just wiped the lugs off a little to see the condition of the ramps

·
Premium Member
4,527 Posts
Will a bullet chamber easily?

·
Registered
261 Posts
those marks look like they are coming from either the bolt or the feed ramps.. shouldn't happen but only thing that looks that it could make those marks..

·
Registered
785 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Will a bullet chamber easily?
Yes, The round chambers smoothly with the bolt removed and me just dropping it into the chamber. It drops almost all of the way in under it's own weight with just gravity, I have to give it gentle pressure to get it fully chambered. It will not fall out under it's own weight. The round comes out easily with needle nose pliers (I can't grab it without the pliers with my sausage fingers...)

·
Registered
785 Posts
Discussion Starter #7