Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone I have a decent deal on "one tons" but I'm wondering if you guys would know if this set up would work. The front axle is a Dana 60 with 4.10 gears and a sterling 10.5 in the rear. I'm quite new to this kind of swap but im just doing a lil research some how some way. (There's not much for a aftermarket for these things)

·
Registered
128 Posts
Sterling 10.5 is a massive beast with not a lot of options...

front axle ok.. but rear i'd look for a D60 at a junk yard... they are pretty cheep

·
Registered
461 Posts
Sterling 10.5 is a fine axle. Better than a Dana 60 for the rear, stronger for sure.

What do you mean by 'not a lot of options'??? There is plenty of aftermarket support - gears, traction devices, axles, brackets, trusses, etc;

Oh yeah, a lot more clearance than a non-shaved 14 bolt.

·
Registered
597 Posts
The 720 I'm building has a sterling rear. 5.13s welded.
The front axle I'm still building my housing just showed up a couple days ago. I'm using the inner C and outer from an 09 f350 d60 on a currie f9 housing front inner shafts will be currie once I figure out the lengths they need to be.

·
Registered
465 Posts
If you're going to go Sterling 10.5 I would just get a 14 bolt for $150 a call it good.

I have a 92 Ford D-60 in the front of my Pathy and it went in fine(ish) hope you have a lot of fabricating skills. The 08 D-60 is much the same except that it is a balljoint 60 instead of a Kingpin.

If you are running anything over a 39" tire you will hate the 4.10's. Im on 42"s and just put in some 5.38's because my rig was so gutless with the low 4.10s.

Feel free to ask if you have more questions, theres not a ton of Nissans on Tons around so Im happy to help if you have any questions.

Heres a vid of mine from a few weeks ago

·
Under Powered
905 Posts