Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Theory and Practice of Land Cruiser Heating Anomolies.

OK, I'm new at this "internal compustion engine" concept, but my Cruiser runs hot at freeway speed.

My Setup:
'68 FJ40, stock straight 6,
stock-ish radiator (probably a replacement, but stock size)
electric fan mounted in front.
Temp guage is plumbed inline with the heater core, after water comes out of the head.

Been playing around with cooling- removed thermistat (please, I told you not to roll your eyes),
plumbed in a pressure guage, yes a pressure guage, to the coolant system.
7lb rad cap works fine and cycles fine, just like it says in the theory books. (7lb cap, not 14lb or more because that poor F engine has spit out 2, yes 2, freeze plugs.)
Straight water right now, no risk of freezing (gotta love these California winters. ha!). At the rate my radiator spring leaks and motor pops out freeze plugs, I can't afford coolant.

The situation:
Weather was nice, 60-65F today here. Around town it runs cold as ice, 120F if that. Get on the freeway, spin it at 3k rpm, heats up to 190 pretty quick, then creaps up toward 220F. I get scared, drop it down to 2500 rpm and let it cool down to 190ish, then back on. Get off the freeway, idling and temp falls real quick.

Before I pulled the thermistat, situation was identicle except engine would heat up faster because thermistat help water at 180F. So instead of rising 100 deg, it only went up 30 degrees before I'd get scared and back off.

Questions-
1) Does that 500 rpm between 2500 and 3k rpm really make that much difference? Shouldn't going faster down the hiway mean that more air is going thru the radiator and cool it down, at least enough to not heat up like that?