Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm a bit of a newbie to the cruizer crowd, and i'm looking for some advice about performance with the 2F. mind you, i've got little $ and would like to keep the 2F. i've got a 78fj40, stock motor, carb, cam etc. The things i've been thinking about are:

1. ignition--whats the best and cheapest option for this? aftermarket dist (ie non-usa, mallory, etc) that is a bolt in for the 2F. MAF wants around $300 for the mallory. what about coils? are those $40 "super coils " any good? jacobs is sweet, but again is it worth it ?(another $300)

2. carb--the stock carb i got has been rebuilt, and seems to run ok, mileage around 12mpg on the road. I've got a weber 32/36 from my mini truck, so all i need is adapters etc., but i'm not sure of the benefits--everyone runs the 38. what about manual vs. electric choke?

3. head--might have to pull the head-think i've got a valve seal that's bad. could get the head milled.

any advice would be appreciated

willy

·
Registered
7,084 Posts
I like the Petronix electronic conversion, they are cheap, reliable, and provide plenty of spark for the 6 banger.

We have lots of guys in Lone Star Cruisers ( I am running 2 on a 60 and 45) running the stock carb, so everyone is not running the Weber.......12 mpg is excellent BTW...

If you have to pull the head...... mill it, do a good valve job, throw on a header along with a 2 1/4 " exhaust system, a turbo muffler and enjoy.
Welcome newb:flipoff2: :flipoff2:

Butch

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
already got headers:flipoff2:

where can i find info on the petronix? is it just a distributor, or a complete ign. system??

·
Registered
836 Posts
12mpg is excellent? Ick.

I get 18 out of my 2F, and that's on the highway going 70 :D

I have a mild cam, head decked .070, HEI, and a rebuilt Asain carb (factory Toyota)