Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The 4th Annual Poteau Thanksgiving Run won't happen... Due to the local hunting club declining to renew our lease, we have been shut out of the Poteau Mountain wheeling area. Vaughn asked me to post this, said he and Tim are working to try to find a suitable replacement for the loss of Poteau Mountain so we can resume the Thanksgiving Run next year.

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
I hope its not for good. I respect those guys fro letting us wheel Poteau Mountain for all these years since they pay to have that lease and dont charge us anything to wheel...

There are a lot of good memories for me there. I have been wheeling Poteau Mountain for about 16 years now...

Keep us posted. Thanks Beast...

JOSH

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
get in contact with the actual land owner, not the club that leases it, and he may also lease it to you for the few days of the run.

I doubt the hunt club OWNS the land, they most likely lease it, and legally, they probably can't re-lease it to you (called subletting), but the actual land owner can.

it happens all the time here, we lease land to hunt on, and during hunting season, the logging company comes in and logs part of it out. Same deal...land owner gave them permission, and since very few leases have an exclusivity clause (especially for hunting), if the land owner wants to let you use it, the hunt club can't stop him.

·
Moderating Midget
27,537 Posts
Smartest thing would not to expect to hold a run during hunting season itself.....

Seems like they would try to hold all the fun-runs in the area that was leased by a hunting club during the off-season.

·
Premium Member
2,097 Posts
Well...I expect to be there this T-giving just like always. I guess we will just run Cavenau. It just sucks that we are even losing private land. See there for turkey day...right Josh??

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter #8