Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
quick question on using PVC conduit. I am in the process of running PVC conduit throughout my shop in preparation for wiring. anyway i am curious if it is necessary to glue all of the connections. when the outlet box's, junction box's etc are screwed down and the conduit has hold downs it doesn't seem like it can go anywhere. anyway i am new to doing this so i thought i'd ask.

·
I build stuff
24,247 Posts
High5 said:
quick question on using PVC conduit. I am in the process of running PVC conduit throughout my shop in preparation for wiring. anyway i am curious if it is necessary to glue all of the connections. when the outlet box's, junction box's etc are screwed down and the conduit has hold downs it doesn't seem like it can go anywhere. anyway i am new to doing this so i thought i'd ask.
I believe that this is a code question for your local inspector. If you don't need to worry about getting the site inspected I doubt I would worry about it.

·
Premium Member
1,772 Posts
High5 said:
Why use PVC in your shop? Yes it needs to be glued and should use cleaner on it before glue. You need to use expansion fittings otherwise it will expand and contract with temp and look like crap.

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Joey D said:
Why use PVC in your shop?
why not? i have never done this before and i basically didn't know better if i shouldn't have.

·
Premium Member
5,557 Posts
High5 said:
it gets hot here during the summer. 105 some days
That's what I figured. Horizontally run PVC's gonna look slinky after a summer of hanging in that heat, but I can't see it from my house.

·
Registered
1,466 Posts