Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, as most of you know i blew up my rear end about a week or so ago. I took the carrier out, and noticed that the ring and pinion were still in good shape, but the pinion bearings had a bunch of metal shavings and crap in them which caused the bearings to catch. Anyway, i got new bearings, and used the original races. My question is: When i tightened the pinion flange and everything down to 130Nm the pinion was harder to turn than before. This is because of the new bearing. But do you think that I really need to replace the shim or will everything loosen up after i drive it a little? Go easy on me:flipoff2:

Flame on!

Brad

·
Registered
6,536 Posts
Brad,

*disclaimer* I'm no expert.

Ok, the way I see it it'll do one of two things. It'll either tighten up more (i.e. sieze the bearing), or loosen up.

More than likely won't stay the same, so I s'pose you need to flip your quarter and see which of those two things will happen.

I used to think that cars would magically heal themselves, but then I blew up the motor in that VW van of mine. :flipoff2:

Ran pretty damn good for throwing a rod through the side of the motor and draining all the oil out. Actually got it turned around and drove it out of the canyon.

Your problem? I'd get a professional opinion.

·
Registered
25,560 Posts
Rarely is it a good idea to reuse races with new bearings. Bearings enjoy a very intimate relationship with their races and as a result, the new bearings may not fit well into the old races. Also, any damage that may have been done to the bearings when it grenaded are, unless catastrophic, invisible to unaided eyes.

Keep in mind I am the Cheapest Cheap bastard out there (currently running hand operated brake lights and my heater fan switch hangs out of the dash by the wires, it's a toggle switch.