Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
691 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How hard is rebuilding a 22re engine for a 88 toyota p\u? What is involved and what tools are required? :confused:
The engine has about 180k miles on it.

·
Registered
994 Posts
not too hard if you know what your doing.

The only special tools I can think of are a ring compressor, torqe wrench, puller for the front pully.... thats if you take it in and get in machined.. I am sure I am leaving something out but thats all I can think of right now

·
Registered
34 Posts
If you've rebuilt any engine before a 22R is easier. If you've never rebuilt an engine before this is a damn easy way to learn next to a chainsaw engine.

·
Registered
691 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This is my first time rebuilding an engine. I checked and a rebuild kit costs around $500.00 or so. Will i need a lift to take the engine out?

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
If you don't know that you need a hoist to get an engine out, you may not want to rebuild a motor. I don't mean to be rude, but get some common sense and then ask questions. BTW you can get a quality rebuild kit on ebay for about $275.00.

·
Registered
3,820 Posts
Why do you think it needs to be rebuilt? 180k isn't that much for a Toy engine, unless the oil was never changed.

Might be a little problem you can easily fix without doing an entire rebuild.........

·
Registered
161 Posts
I am in the same boat and considering the same question. My rings are pretty much shot (blowby out the filler cap is ridiculous, and the oil gets black in about 750 miles after an oil change) and I have wicked timing chain noise (time for a replacement). A buddy of mine is of the opinion it may be both cheaper and faster to buy and install a rebuilt motor instead of replacing the timing chain and doing the machining work. My sense is he is right. Any input?

·
Registered
24,646 Posts