Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone give me some ideas on what they use as far as deer slugs for a remmington 870. I have been using mine for a few years now and ran out of the "cheap" off brand slugs that I was shooting fairly well with and grouped well. I tried out some remmington buckhammers this year and they did not do well at all with my gun. I thought that they might do well since they are made by the same company that made the gun. They didnt. I could have done better throwing the whole gun at the deer. Previously it was good and accurate. Now its all over the place and the only change was the slugs.

·
Registered
9,708 Posts
Have you tried Federal Truball slugs? Federal had a $2 a box rebate for their buckshot/Truball slugs so I bought a bunch just to have on hand.

In TN, we aren't forced to hunt deer with shotguns like up north, so I've only shot slugs around 25-30 yards, but they were accurate.

Have you tried any 12ga. sabot rounds?

·
Premium Member
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Only thing I have ever tried were these cheap slugs that were great and the name brand that sucked. I would go back to the cheap jobs but I couldn't find them anywhere a year and a half ago when I tried to find them and now I can't remember what they were. I haven't looked into the loads you suggested yet but if they are a "buckshot" I can't use that in the wonderful state of illinois.

·
Registered
9,708 Posts
Only thing I have ever tried were these cheap slugs that were great and the name brand that sucked. I would go back to the cheap jobs but I couldn't find them anywhere a year and a half ago when I tried to find them and now I can't remember what they were. I haven't looked into the loads you suggested yet but if they are a "buckshot" I can't use that in the wonderful state of illinois.
They weren't buckshot. I found a package. They were Federal Truball rifled slugs 2-3/4" 1oz. 1600fps velocity.