Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone ever seen any method of resplining axles other then a gear shaper, gear hob, or cold rolling? i.e. some way of using a mill or lathe to cut the splines? Do they make the inverse of a broach that could be pushed over a shaft to product the splines like a die cuts threads?

~Kirk

·
Registered
2,466 Posts
any end mill can cut a 45* spline. You just have to do the math to figure out where the cutter goes in relation to the axle centerline.

or you can get a "little hogger end mill" from J&L Industrial. pn CHM-13450C

Attachments

·
Registered
233 Posts
I'm just a hobby machinist working with machines that a modern machine shop would consider to be outdated, but I managed to cut my first splines yesterday. I used the DD machine spline cutter. No red star, but I'll link to the photos.

The splines:

http://members.tcq.net/jnutter/splines1.jpg http://members.tcq.net/jnutter/splines2.jpg

The fit is really nice. I had to go around more than once becuase it was too tight on the first pass, but after a couple adjustments it fit great. It's about the same as a stock Dana spline, or maybe just a hair tighter. I've got my depth of cut down now. Future splines will be easier.

Here's my setup:
http://members.tcq.net/jnutter/setup.jpg

That's an old horizontal mill that I paid $95 for. The 50 NMTB to R8 adapter was $100, the R8 collet was about $7 and the indxer was about $200 with shipping from a guy on e-bay. You can check out the vendors section for info on the cutter. I've also got a small Bridgeport, but the horizontal is a lot more rigid and I think it's easier to set up for this job too.