Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm nearing the end of my "restoration" of the Defender, cleaning up the interior so the yuppie-type that will likely buy it won't balk too much. And I'm discovering all over again how much I'd rather be playing underneath than inside the vehicle.

Now I'm on to retrimming the seat box, since my original vinyl covering had a nice gaping hole on the lower corner. And I have a few questions for any that have touched this before:

1) Any adhesive recommendations? Foam-backed vinyl and painted metal don't typically like to stick together. I have some "Amazing Goop" that has worked decently in the past, and some 3M adhesive squares...

2) Dealing with the e-brake. I know I am going to have to remove it, but can't find any diagrams to give myself an idea of what exactly I'm up against with it. As of yet I have no experience with the emergency brake other than using it, and I'd prefer to keep this "retrim the seat box" project from becoming a "figure out how to reassemble the emergency brake" project. Are the nuts on the other side captured? What can I safely remove without having a random spring or something pop out? Is there any order I need to proceed in?

·
Registered
183 Posts
3M makes some adhesive especially for interiors. There is also a 3M spray adhesive "77" that works like a super contact style adhesive.

·
Registered
660 Posts
spray splooge adhesive

The 3-M 77 is good stuff, but let it set up a bit. Like Busto wrote - it acts like/is contact cement, so needs to set a bit to act right. otherwise it'll goober out when you press down on the part/vinyl and also won't stick real well. Beware where you spray it - it sprays out in a spatter type pattern. If I were to defile my 109 with all the trim I spent hours pulling ou, I'd stick it with the 77.

Simon

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #4