Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm really hoping someone who's much more knowledgeable with Toyota's than myself can spare a few minutes to give me a hand. A while back, I received a 1985 Toyota Xtra Cab 4x4 as payment for a debt from a friend (long story that cost me quite a bit of money). I'm a Nissan guy, so I'm just beginning to wrap my head around what was stock and what wasn't on an '85. It has All-Pro crossover steering, unknown leafs, unknown lift shackles, front shock hoops, rear shock carrier hoop, and swaybar disconnects.

So, I need to revert it back to as close to stock height and ride quality as I can. I'm not able to hop in a cab that tall (injuries), and I like the truck enough to keep it instead of selling it and buying another. It also rides horribly right now and shakes as bad as a wooden roller coaster over bumps (well beyond what leaf-springs should).

Are there any aftermarket companies that I can cobble together near to stock parts from? Also, taking into consideration the modified shock setup front and rear, can I go to Bilstein and get custom length shocks that won't cost me terribly? Finally, if I want to keep the crossover steering, what is the minimum lift if any needed to run it (I was thinking OME leafs and stock length shackles)?

Thank you for any help. I really like this truck, but without giving it a fresh (and much lowered) suspension facelift I won't be able to keep it.

Edit: Pictures can be found here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/yblpry7bxal0l5n/l6WQGFF2bs

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Where are the pics nancy?

I'd say trade it to someone who can actually use it for what it's meant for... and you get to keep their 2 wheel drive Toyota. :flipoff2:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Link to pictures added to first post.