Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im gathering parts to do a front 3 link on my 02 Grand Cherokee. I've spent ALOT of time searching what seems like an endless sea of rod ends/johnny joints. In searching for 1.25" shank joints, I have seen prices from $39.99 (Trail gear) to $99.95 (Currie). I have lots of fab experience, but I have not scratch-built a suspension before:homer:. Which joints are preferred by the masses, and why? My rig sees 80% street/ 20%trails.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
RuffStuff for basic long lasting, proven strong and well backed heims

EMF for ultimate, rebuildable, lifetime warranty rodends

JJ's... I got nothing.

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So even for a mostly street driven rig I should go with heims>jjs? I know I sound like a stoopid fawkin noob:homer: But I only want to do this once.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
decision time.
no experience with driving either on the road, that said most will say JJ absorb a bit of vibes, where as a heim will transmit more vibes.

imo, if your building a suspension, you're probably running a larger/meatier tire, bought some good shocks, and understand you're not driving a caddy... so a few vibes can be dealt with.

decision time.

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
I'm running a modified rubicon express 5" TJ lift kit with RE shocks and 33" km2s. I'm not too worried about a few vibes... I just want to do things right the first time around. My main concern is durability of the different joints on something that sees alot of street time. Thanks for the advice!

·
Registered
6,056 Posts
Standard 1.25" Johnny Joints last forever compared to any rod end or cartridge joint that I have ever seen. Ruff Stuff heims can be stronger and if you were building an Ultra4 car I would say to go that way. For your application the Johnny Joints win.

·
Registered
788 Posts