Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Banned
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey... i'm new to this going fast stuff and i want to build a truck. i have a 4x4 s-10 i'd like to build, i know they're not popular to build for the desert and i've read the reasons (weak frame, no aftermarket, etc...). I'd like to do the s10 cause they're less common too. is there any way to build the front suspension to be any good on a small budget? i don't want a trophy truck (yet) just something for pismo, mojave, and places like that. any suggestions?

i will build this one no matter what. just looking for some direction on how to do the front suspension so the trial/error stuff doesn't last as long. sorry for the long post and thanks for the help

·
Registered
4,327 Posts
G-Machine makes a front kit for the S-Dimes, not sure on the cost, but it's a cool set-up and gets 14" of actual useable travel, plus GMR are cool guys to deal with. However, and this is a big however, if you sold the Dime and bought a Ranger you could either build a truck just as capable for a lot less, or spend the same cash and end up with a more capable truck, not what you want to hear, but an early 90's Ranger is your best option.

·
Banned
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ya... i know the other trucks are more cost effective. but i want to be different so i want the 10. thanks for the replies... i guess i gotta start learning how to build a front end

·
Registered
26 Posts
ya... i know the other trucks are more cost effective. but i want to be different so i want the 10. thanks for the replies... i guess i gotta start learning how to build a front end