Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Shacle mouted on the crossmamber end. Has anyone got any thoughts on how mounting the shackle pointing up will affect the dynamics of how this bar works ?? Trying to keep from mounting it with the shackle pointing down because raising the crossmember higher in the jeep will interfere with the driveshaft..And pointing down becomes a plow that will hang below the jeep.

HELP !!

·
Registered
301 Posts
Mounting the t-bar with the shackle down won't stop any axle/spring wrap except when the bolts of the shackle are perfectly balanced on the centers of each other but as soon as you apply throttle you will lose this balance and wrap your rear end.
Mounting the shackle up means that in order for the rear end to wrap it would have to stretch the distance between bolts in your shackle or your shackle or mount would have to break.
Those welds are terrible, I'm no expert but I weld a helluva lot better than that.

Hope this helps
John

Edit: Don't buy a traction bar just build one mine took about two hours and cost me less than $50.

·
Registered
823 Posts
i was going to fab one, but ended up getting a MORE one for christmas. kinda glad i did too, because its REALLY quality work. it came with greasable bushings and a johnny joint on the shackle end

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·