Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 630 Posts

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK guys bring the input.

After some hairy sidehills on pritchet and other trails its time to chop.

Im just getting started, and my goal is CLEAN! I have pondered the cage, the cell, the coilover mounts, the whole set up( thanks Keith, Alex and Matt).

Question number one of many....

My fuel cell......

I have the good old fall back of a 15 gallon RCI poly cell, but I just grabbed a d 90 tank from one of my buddies that had it lying around, and I think I may try to mount it up underneath behind the axle. The 90 tank is smaller and only 15.6 gallons compared to the giant disco tank, and being smaller it gives me a chance to bob and dove the back,while still keeping a rover tank under the back im hoping it will give me about 5-7 inches I can shave.

Here are a few pictures of what I have done already. The 37s are on(Im still waiting on my spacers to show up). I just re-trimmed the fenders, and stripped out the interior rear guts..

Anyways here is my start, more to come, Im hoping to get the top off by the 25th, then the cage gets started...

Attachments

·
Registered
11,483 Posts
In, thanks for the chance!

RCI, mounted with straps or springs. D-90 cell is way too heavy, and sits too low. And is too fragile to a good beating. If you really want to lose weight you need to start thinking now about everything you can do to drop it everywhere. If you don't, your going to end up with a north of 4000lb car with no conforts at all, instead of a 5,000 lb car with comforts.

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok so with that said, would you suggest one with baffles, or one with foam?Cells are new to me, so I want to make sure I get it right the first time?

Thanks!

·
Registered
11,483 Posts
Ok so with that said, would you suggest one with baffles, or one with foam?Cells are new to me, so I want to make sure I get it right the first time?

Thanks!