Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm a newb so go easy on me please. I just convinced the bank to let me drive a used 03 2500 they paid for :D and I guess in its previous life it saw snow because theres a hole bunch of surface rust on everthing under the car and 4 u-joints are already toast. Before I put factory u-joints back in do you guys suggest that I put servicable joints w/ zerk fitting on them in there place? I was also curious as to how much slop should be in the rear end, there is a noticable amount and I can hear a clunk coming from it when letting off and getting on the throttle. I got 700 miles left on my drivetrain warranty and I'd preffer not to let this work its way into an expensive fix later.

Thanks for the info,
Seabass

·
Registered
260 Posts
sea....i have a 73 dodge powerwagon with the EXACT same problem. my rearend has the slop also. everybody i have talked to said its normal, although mine is an 8.75 rearend. im not sure what yours is but i know its not the same. maybe someone else can chime in and help you out.
kyle

·
Registered
363 Posts
CCF said:
sea....i have a 73 dodge powerwagon with the EXACT same problem. my rearend has the slop also. everybody i have talked to said its normal, although mine is an 8.75 rearend. im not sure what yours is but i know its not the same. maybe someone else can chime in and help you out.
kyle
just wondering do you have some really expensive gears or lockers in that axle if you dont who cares if it really goes out.pull of the diff cover and inspect for damage like chipped teeth anything abnormal in there?change the fluid out and call it good. if that axle explodes find a dana 60 or something dont worry so much mine does the same thing for over a year still no issues with it and ive pulled the cover

·
Registered
260 Posts