Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys newbie here jus wanting to know if there is a difference between front and rear shacles on a 88 samurai, and if the bone shacles from rocky road outfitters r a good all round shackle?

thanks, ray

·
Registered
87 Posts
Front and back are slightly different. But will fit at either end.
Your choice for aftermarket shackles. Depends on what you want to achieve.
Remember though every little change you make will affect something else. Like shock length with longer shackles. Or castor. Etc. etc. etc.
Paul.

·
Registered
249 Posts
JDsbusa said:
hey guys newbie here jus wanting to know if there is a difference between front and rear shacles on a 88 samurai, and if the bone shacles from rocky road outfitters r a good all round shackle?

thanks, ray
There really IS NOT a difference between front and rear aftermarket shackes... they are totally interchangeable if you are referring to lifted shackles. There IS one thing to note, though. Trail tough has designed their shackle so that it will let your rear droop further than the oem part. I have a pair of them and let me say the quality is fantastic. They offer them in 3/4 or 1 3/4 extended versions if I recall correctly.

If I were you I'd go with the trail tough ones. That's my 2 cents!

·
Registered
260 Posts
I have the rocky road shackles and am happy with them.

·
Registered
316 Posts
just know that lifted shackles on the front will change the castor varying degrees. this will affect on-road handling and can cause it to wander from a little to a lot.

·
Registered
249 Posts
zukanuba said:
just know that lifted shackles on the front will change the castor varying degrees. this will affect on-road handling and can cause it to wander from a little to a lot.
If you are having a problem with caster, you can use a 3 degree (or appropriate) shim. I never had a problem with shackles alone.