Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a friend that wanted a cage built for his Scrambler. I hadn't built a cage yet, and figured I might as well give it a shot. The guy was very particular. He wanted to keep the factory roll bar, and he wanted to tie the cage into it. I also had to work around the fact that he is 6'6", and needed all the room he could keep. He also did not want an "X" behind the seats, so I did a "V" so that it would have some support. All 6 places that it hits the floor are tied into the frame via GenRight mounts. The tubing is 1.5" .250wall DOM, except for the 2 center spreaders which are 1.5" Sch40. Take it easy on me, its my first cage after all... and I did it one handed

I apologize in advance for the shitty cell pics.

·
Registered
183 Posts
.250 wall! That's a heavy fawkin cage... Nice work though.

And I'm a certified welder...I can barely weld plate one-handed. It'd come out looking like complete ass and bird shat if I tried to weld tube one handed. Good lookin work.

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
.250 wall! That's a heavy fawkin cage... Nice work though.

And I'm a certified welder...I can barely weld plate one-handed. It'd come out looking like complete ass and bird shat if I tried to weld tube one handed. Good lookin work.

damn. Curious why you went with .25?
We traded some old jeep parts for a BUNCH of 20' sticks of the 1.5"/.250 wall tubing.

·
Registered
644 Posts
Did you take those pictures with a toaster? :flipoff2:

Looks damn good. Must have been fun to bend all that 1/4 wall.

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Did you take those pictures with a toaster? :flipoff2:

Looks damn good. Must have been fun to bend all that 1/4 wall.

Actually- I took them with my blender

I have a big Bendpak hydraulic bender out of a muffler shop like these:
Pipe Bender, Tubing Bender, Exhaust Pipe Benders, Muffler Bender - BendPak