Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. i just bought a 78 scout II from my girlfriend for $500. its got a 345 automatic dana 44s(at least im pretty damn sure)

i drove it home and the tranny was pouring out oil so i borrowed my girls truck and towed it the rest of the way. changed the tranny oil filter and the pan gasket and its been perfect.

i drove it again and got an electrical fire but i fixed it right away and luckily nothin was too majorly burnt.

I am new to scouts but have always loved them. im not so new to wheelin though. ive had a 90 SAS toyota, and a 88 YJ.

Basically im jsut say whats up? and getting to know the scout. i dont have a recent pic but this is what it looked like before my girlfriend stripped the paint like an idiot.

awhile ago i stumbled across a site that sold a quarter elliptical suspension kit for scout IIs...anyone know this site?

·
Premium Member
7,661 Posts
If you're wanting to dump a bunch of the OEM junk on it and mod it, read the FAQ here and search/read a LOT before asking a bunch of dumbass questions.

If you're wanting to keep it pretty stockish, then go to www.binderbulletin.org and ask all the dumbass questions you want. They like that. :laughing::laughing:

·
Banned
5,282 Posts
I think the 1/4 elliptic build you're refering to is Project 2 (TC) on my extreme buildups
http://www.dandcextreme.com/extremebuildups.asp

Although that scout worked great, I no longer support the 1/4 elliptic suspensions, not only are they expensive (springs) to do right, but the mounts are very tricky and not very adjustable without getting new springs (expensive). I LOVE coils though. They're MUCH cheaper and you can really fine-tune your hieght and spring rate. Better on the road (driving manners) as well.

Take a look at the Link conversion kits we're doing now. Here's the prototype
http://www.binderbulletin.org/forums/showthread.php?p=380538

Here's the kit in final form.