Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Major Steering Problem

Ok, I am a newbie and have been having a major malfunction with the steering on my 85 Toyota.

It seems to be that the the truck constantly wants to pull to the right and when you use the brakes it jars to the right even more.

Since I have gotten the truck we have put 33x15.50x15 Super Swamper TSL/SX's on it and it now seems to pull to the left every once in a while.

We have checked the power steering fluid, it is full. We have been wrenching on it for a few days and just can't seem to get it figured out. Can anyone out there give me some hints?

I would appreciate all the help I can get. I have also tried to search for help but could not find anything...

Thanks!!
:confused: :confused: :confused:

·
Registered
3,501 Posts
I'm going to guess you still have the stock steering on there?? And it's lifted at least 4"? And maybe you took the torque arm off?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry about that, I have a 2" inch body lift with a 5 " inch superlift suspension lift. I have an after market draglink assembly. Yes we took the torque arm off as well as the sway bars front and rear. However, the steering was just as bad before we took the sway bars off. It has not gotten any worse sense.

Any thoughts??? Maybe the ball stud is worn on the drag link to pittman arm assembly?

·
Registered
779 Posts
Bratt said:
Sorry about that, I have a 2" inch body lift with a 5 " inch superlift suspension lift. I have an after market draglink assembly. Yes we took the torque arm off as well as the sway bars front and rear. However, the steering was just as bad before we took the sway bars off. It has not gotten any worse sense.

Any thoughts??? Maybe the ball stud is worn on the drag link to pittman arm assembly?
Shoulda bought Thornbirds :D