Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first of all yes i am a newbie but i am also just a senior in high school. I searched this topic several times without ever finding the true answer that i am trying to get. I am building my cj-7 right now and am swapping in dana 44 flat top front and dana 60 rear. I am also doing shackle reversal in the front. now my ?. I am running 35 mtr's and a 1 inch body lift. The suspension is what is stopping me right now. Im thinking Soa on stock yj springs or Re 1.5 Soa springs. I read somewhere about the holbrook kit that comes with longer springs while providing good flex. But im not sure it will flex as well as soa. I have the traction bar and other things taken care of already. I dont want to go much bigger cause its a DD and i already considered 40440's but want the gas tank to stay and thats pretty tall right now. I am ordering All Pros shock hoops for the front but what about the rear. Should i build some outer shock hoops of run the shocks into the tub. any pictures of these setups or advice would be great. Thanxz guys and HAMMER DOWN

·
Premium Member
1,138 Posts
I have'nt seen the Holbrook springs discussed here. From what I remember of the mag. article, they sound very similar to Dodge Dakota rear springs. They only have about 2" lift, so you would have to put them SOA for 35's. The "kit" is probably much more expensive than buying Dakota's from JCW & peicing the rest together or fabing them yourself. They should give excellent flex - a good anti-wrap/traction bar would definately be required.
66CJDEAN runs the Dakota's SOA & they work great. Try searching his username & Dakota springs.

Either YJ spring are good choices. You do'nt seem too concerned about cost, so i'd sat go w/ the RE's.