Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay im by no means an engineer or what the hell ever or very experienced at this shit at all... i mean im only out of highschool but anyways take a look at this.. and you may or may not udnerstand the concept when you look at it so just ask.. flame away, discuss whatever i just want to know what everyone thinks.

basically there's a link from the top of the axle.. to what i call the "elbow" which is built into the frame rail and sort of "swivels" or rotates i suppose, and on the other end of this "elbow" is a coil over which mounts to the frame at another point.

i believe the pros would be a high clearance "link type" suspension.. the cons.. would be having a place to put it..

so have at it. :D

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
yeah it will work, but you have to get all of your link length ratios dialed in just right. basically what you have there is a kind of cantilever suspension- go look at a really modifed Clod Buster or similar and take notes from that.

edit: looking at it, i thought you had more links than you do. you need some kind of triangulation in there, as well as something to take care of axlewrap.

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
That will work and will give you as much flex as you can build into the link setup you use to position the axle.
If you have ever seen r/c monster trucks some chassis for the clodbuster use the same cantalliver setup.
You will need swaybars no matter what.

·
Premium Member
14,731 Posts
Yep!

As a previous RC Buff .. look at a Clod Buster or the Tamiya TXT-1.. they both hav Cantilever setups.. the TXT-1 comes stock with one so you can get some ideas from there...

But I think you would have to build "to big" of a rig to take full advantage of the benefits of the cantilever setup...

·
Premium Member
14,731 Posts