Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
4,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ive seen and admired quite a few "stitch welds" on here over the years. How do you guys make the weld (length) and spacing between welds so similar from one weld to the next. Is there a trick? Ive seen some on here that look factory. Obviously I know you can lay it all out before hand with a sharpie but for me it gets hard to see start and stop lines through a hood. Advise? How do you know how close/far to put them?

example

·
Premium Member
1,261 Posts
Silver or white sharpie has good enough contrast for me, but I'm no pro.

·
Registered
8,130 Posts
Paint marker and a bit of math. Find the center and space them out evenly. Pretty straight forward really.

·
Premium Member
1,308 Posts
When I lay mine out, I put a tack at the stopping point of the stitch so I know that's the stopping point. Start welding on the the sharpie (or soapstone) mark and weld your way into the tack. Just be sure to make them small so your bead will flow right into and not be a globbed up pile of shit.

·
Registered
10,512 Posts
Soapstone or welding crayon/grease pencil. As for layout, few ft of a strip of template paper or something with lengths of stops and starts. If it's short arc like I'm guessing, a quick tack will get a stopping point you can see no matter what

·
Lost
123 Posts
Do the math to set spacing. Black (cheap) Sharpie at start points. While welding count the number of a steps/weaves in your patten (usually 6 per inch). Replete each stitch with the same count, no need to see an endpoint through hood. Assuming you're a consistent welder.

·
Registered
4,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
When I lay mine out, I put a tack at the stopping point of the stitch so I know that's the stopping point. Start welding on the the sharpie (or soapstone) mark and weld your way into the tack. Just be sure to make them small so your bead will flow right into and not be a globbed up pile of shit.