Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay I picked up a 2004 Hemi engine and 45RFE transmission assembly with about 800 miles on it to swap into my 97 TJ. I got a screaming deal ($3000) but no wiring harness (got the ECU but don't know if it had anti-theft). I picked up a 2005 instrument cluster and Squier (Hot Rod Lane) wants $1350 for a complete new harness (no exchange) including the mods to my under dash harness to work with the new cluster. However I also bought a 2004 under dash harness and a check on car-parts.com shows a bunch of engine / transmission harnesses available pretty cheap (~$250). I understand that there's different harnesses and computer setups for the different years - I believe mine has just the one ECU to control both the engine and transmission. I was an electrical engineer in a past life so I'm not afraid of tracing out (more than) a few circuits and have worked with the weatherpak-style connectors (I even have the double-crimp tool). This swap is nothing new at this point, so I'm hoping some of you who've been through this can share a few tips about things like motormounts, exhaust (will the truck manifolds work), and the drive-by-wire throttle. Any tips you guys can give me would be very much appreciated!

Todd

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
They just did a complete write up on this exact swap in a 4 wheel mag. 4 wheeler or Petersons I believe. It was done on the "Teal J". AEV, I have heard will not help out much if at all, but Teraflex (i think), has a complete kit and can help you out, motor mounts the drive by wire and the harness.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #3