Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am setting up a sterling 10.25 out of a 88 f250 and putting it in my 87 bronco since the 8.8 in the is destroyed. I am putting 3.73 Yukon gears in it and keeping the stock carrier. I have also got a long pinion yoke. I am wondering why my gear pattern is weird.

As you can see the markings are very small and very inward. From what I can tell I need to decrease the pinion height by changing to a smaller shim. Problem is that’s the factory shim and in my Yukon master install kit it doesn’t come with anything smaller then 25 thou. Which the Yukon installation book says is the factory shim for a 10.25. And the only other shim on the pinion is the factory outer pinion shim.

My backlash is also within spec. Maybe it could be not enough carrier bearing preload. Though I would think it’s enough. But I’m not expert by any means as this is my first time doing this myself.
Sound it makes
I appreciate any of the feedback I get
Thanks

·
blatant asshole
11,856 Posts
Pull the pinion shim and reset the carrier and backlash and paint again.

Did you check under the inner pinion race for shims?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Pull the pinion shim and reset the carrier and backlash and paint again.

Did you check under the inner pinion race for shims?
By reset carrier and backlash do you mean take the shims out and start from scratch in case of a mistake? And there were no shims under the inner pinion race. The kit came with a bunch but I had a really hard time getting the race in and I already made a inner pinion setup bearing.

·
blatant asshole
11,856 Posts
Not start from scratch. But when you pull the pinion shim its going to open the backlash up. Youll need to get than back down to spec

·
blatant asshole
11,856 Posts
If your to deep you got to lose something.

Did you whack the pinion after you tighend the bearings? I always do to make sure the races are fully seated

·