Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok all you noobs, lets see how your welds are doing this week:D

here are mine- anything that im doing horrendously wrong? that is 1x1/4" bar stock, and was welded with a Hobart 175.

Attachments

·
Registered
5,019 Posts
looking pretty good. I am no expert but that will work for ya, now start on your butt welds because most of your 4X4 welds will end up that way. i.e. roll cages, suspension links, tabs on axle housings....:D

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
here are some more, on same 1/4" bar stock. ignore the one in the middle, i was on one heat setting too low.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
and heres the "penetration" of the welds just posted. 1/4" is just at the limit of my machine, so i think it must be something in my technique that is causing me not to get any penetration?

Attachments

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
just for reference, in the pic of the penetration just posted, the lower heat mark matches with the upper weld in the previous pic, and vice versa

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
That's pretty good. For overhead welding... :flipoff2:

Seriously, best way to tell - put the piece in a chop saw at the joint and cut it. You'll see how deep it penetrated. keep doing butt joints , every 3 inches on a piece, and play with the amps. Then cut across the welds and have a look.

DON'T just practice flat stuff. Up, down, side, in tight spots, etc. What separates welders from rod burners is overhead/tight stuff.

BTW, the guy who taught me to weld could weld a butt joint by listening to it. Wild.

J-L

·
Registered
20 Posts