Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bought a welder, picked up some metal, and went at it. I've been practicing for a few months. Sure is nice to finally be able to make your own stuff. Made some sliders and added to the stock cage.

Attachments

·
Registered
286 Posts
first close up looks like you burned thru then added wire/rod/filler to the weld otherwise looks aight feep practicin

btw what did you pick up for a welder?

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well, I'm embarrassed to say it, but it's a 220V harbor freight model. I got it from a relative for about as close to free as you can get. Thought it would fine for practicing and it seems to be ok. Hell, it was even made in Italy, if that means anything. I thought everything from HF was made in China.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I didn't know it was that obvious, I've got a lot to learn. I did burn through a few spots. It's like it burns through the end of the tube but if I turn down the heat I don't think the penetration is good enough. I guess that's where a higher quality welder comes in.

·
Banned
7,673 Posts
Looking good. Much better than me. :D I'm still practicing too. If you're burning through, turn down the heat. It doesn't take much heat to penetrate 1/8" wall tubing.

·
Banned
3,454 Posts