Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I am new to the scout thing and 4x4 in general.

I ran accross a 1967 800 for free the other day and brought it home. Some fo the major components are ther but it needs a lot of work. It has the smaller of the 2 4cyl's and is a 3 speed with a twin stick transfer case. The engine is missing all of the critical things to make it start and is basical bare (starter, distributor, wiring harness, etc) It isn't sezied and the compression seems good.

A buddy wants me to put a toyota gear under the scout. Of course he also wants me to buy it from him. $500 for a 20r, 5spd with the transfer case. Plus at least an additional $300 - $400 for new flywheel, clutch and other misc. parts.

Basicaly I am trying to do a cost/benefiet between building the scout with the original parts or to build it with toyota parts. I know it would be much cooler with all origianl IH gear.... but is there any advantages to the toyota route.

It will have scout II axels.

Ideally I would like the truck to be a daily driver that gets moderate to heavy trail use. It needs to be able to do 55mph with 33" -35" tires as thats the only way it's going to make it to the trails.

Any suggestions?
Thanks

erik

·
IH/Rover Moderator
20,917 Posts
efintel said:
I know it would be much cooler with all origianl IH gear....
erik
It would? An overweight 4 banger is cool? :shaking:

·
Premium Member
9,603 Posts
I don't know about a 152 turning 33s at highway speed. I had 27 inch street tires and 4.27 gears in mine and wide open it would do 65, maybe 70. For some reason 33s seem like a lot of tire for that motor. The 20r would probably be a better choice, lighter and more power.

·
Registered
1,245 Posts
efintel said: