Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5,351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so my wifes father and I have never been close, but I would like to take him wheeling to get to know him better and let him know who I am and this "sport" I participate in. He is 71 and I just can't see taking him through the Box. He does have a love for the outdoors and owns two 1950-51 Jeepsters, one of which has been restored and converted to 4x4. I would love to take him in my XJ and do some moderate wheeling. I don't want to bang over tons of rocks, just some controlled stuff with an overnight at the end of a day.

Maybe Fordyce? Not sure about how much banging? I am a pretty good driver and my rig is set up well. He has some neck problems so any baja-ing is out of the question.

Any good recommendations for runs in NorCal? Barret might be cool, but not open til August.

thanks-if this is chit-chat you can move this.

SeanP

·
Registered
2,993 Posts
I'd say fordyce is a good call, you can go in a good ways before anything is even moderately hairy at all and there are clearings to camp everywhere, start at the eagle lakes exit and decide as you go is its getting to tough for him....there is snow though?

·
Registered
2,880 Posts
Take him to the HAMMERS! I know what you are thinking but there are a million boony bouncing kind of areas aqnd exploring that anyone can do and you don't have to wait next summer to go. We just ran Aftershock which was real easy but had opportunities to play if you wanted to show him what a built rig can do.

·
Registered
2,616 Posts
scwafish said:
Take him to the HAMMERS! I know what you are thinking but there are a million boony bouncing kind of areas aqnd exploring that anyone can do and you don't have to wait next summer to go. We just ran Aftershock which was real easy but had opportunities to play if you wanted to show him what a built rig can do.
hammers is a litle far from northern cali:D.....

·
Registered
1,432 Posts