Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Winter Project - Raptor SAS

Its -20 here in Fairbanks. It warmed up from -40. I decided to build another crawler. I didn't post the last two here, but this is my start.

Its got wraith axles, RC4WD 2 spd dig tranny, Novak 45 turn motor, and a traxxis radio.

·
Registered
191 Posts
ha awesome i was totaly thinking the same thing when i saw that raptor rc at walmart the other day perfect crawler body just didnt have it in me to spend hundred bucks for just a body looks bad ass man good luck with the build

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
When I'm not doing this, I'm a pilot and building my actual truck. My wife bought the truck for Christmas because it is so much cheaper than my other two hobbies. Otherwise, I would not have dropped the coin for just a body.

I made a little jig to keep the tabs lined up. It worked freakin' awesome. UNTIL I had to remove the 1/8 rod. It was just tight enough that it wouldn't let go. I had to cut it into pieces to get it apart.

Then I got motor and transmission installed. Because I'm going to swap to a 18.5T brushless, I want to have 2WD (rear drive) rather than a front dig. I want this to be able to crawl, then take off and go. We'll see how that works out.

I got the front axle installed. It sits a little too far back for my liking, but it is perfect at full stuff.

I added a little bit to the chasis. I'm not going to spend a ton of time making the inside fancy. I will make it strong. The bumpers and bed cage will be much detailed.

·
Premium Member
838 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I did make the link mount myself. Its 16ga steel. Unfortunately, I brazed the tabs too narrow. I had to bend them out to fit the links in. For now, I just using some stock Wraith links. I'll be upgrading those later.