Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
11,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
HOW TO: Install a Detroit Locker on your 14 bolt full floater.

The Detroit locker is beefy, pretty reliable, and a good option if you are planning to drive your rig at all on the street. Yep, you can Lincoln Lock the 14 bolt spiders, but at a cost of more tire wear, less streetability, and the chance of welds coming apart and blowing your gears. The Detroit Locker is a fairly cheap solution, since it does not require a new carrier; the 14 bolt carrier is plenty beef. Another plus is the ease of install. I have never done one before, and took me about an hour and a half, by myself, even while shooting pictures for this write-up.

I remember seeing an old write-up on the web before which was pretty helpful, (Shawn Spickler), but did not provide additional information that would help even the newest of newbs to do the install at home. The install seems so easy that it is pretty scary.

I

1- Start by lifting your rig on jackstands, if the axle is still installed. This will give you better access, and help with testing the install later. Start draining fluid of the dif, removing the cover ( I left the top bolts slightly tightened so the fluid would drop slowly, and not make a mess). While the fluid drains, remove the 8 bolts in each hub which hold the axle shafts. slide the shafts out about 10 inches in each side. Now remove cover fully.

2- The 14 bolt is held by a turning nut colar, which has holes, one on each side of the carrier. I scratched a line on the colar and housing, which would provide me the original position of the carrier. The colar nut with holes pushes against the bearing races.