Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm new to XJs (totalled my old vehicle), but I think I'm pretty decided on the clayton long arm setup, with various RE components. Actually I'd probably use the whole RE 5.5" kit (minus arms) with the claytons. The clayton setup looks like much better geometry, but i hear so much good crap about RE, should I just stick with the RE arms? I searched and couldn't find much on the claytons (only people who had heard that they were good). I'm not looking to fab my own long arms, either. So, anyone out there who can attest to the strength and articulation of the Hard-Arm setup? This kit looks amazing, but i want more info!

This will be my DD, so on-road performace is important. Sorry for the newbie post :rolleyes:

·
Registered
6,308 Posts
My friend who works out of my shop has Clayton's on his XJ. They are great, seem to work well in all conditions and the flex achieved is amazing.

His XJ is going through some major mods and the only thing staying will be the Clayton's. (If they actually do get swapped out they will be going directly under my XJ).

Anyway he is kpj here on PBB. He's gone for the next week though and can't get on the computer much.

You need pics of them just sitting I can swing by his place and take a couple.

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
A freind of mine just installed these on his XJ. The quality of construction looked really good. It looks to me like a really well designed setup, and really strong too. He hasn't wheeled it yet, so I dont' know any real world info. This will be a daily driver as well.

For what you get, including the crossmember, it's a decent price too. :D

·
Registered
824 Posts